OMG! Can you believe it has been almost antire month sin e my last blog entry? It seems impossible – almost sacrilegious…but true.

Though I haven’t written anything, I thought about it often. I’ve been so busy with paid writing projects, proposals, presentations, interviews and of course the mandated, and much needed, baby-body sleep (trust me, resistance is futile) that there wasn’t enough time in my day to write about all the things running through my head.

But this – this going through my mind right now, I simply had to share. I said, “Okay, mz. malone. It doesn’t matter what you’re doing or what you’ve got planned. Today, you write first.”

You see, it occurred to me that these changes in my life have all occurred in the last 60 or so days. For those of you who’ve been following me, you know that’s about the same time my husband left.

Now, before some of you get all antsy – no the process of progress is not about how now that I’ve loosed my husband into the Universe my life is utterly complete and I can see all my mistakes with perfect hindsight and yazza yazza yah. In fact, quite the contrary!

In my determination to be a mega-mogul millionaire, Life handed me some lemons. I tried to squeeze those suckas and down them with sugar, but it just wasn’t lemonade. So I tried a different approach: cutting those bad boys in half and squirting Life right in the eye!

It worked out rather well, too!

You see, this is the process of progress – evaluating where you are, replicating what works and modifying what doesn’t.

Now, this is by no means an easy task to undergo…especially not alone. And I can assure you, if I had experienced any of my recent trials about 10 years ago, I might not be here to share this with you. (Little Jane Horner might be rocking back and forth in a corner sucking her thumb).
But this isn’t 10 years ago, and I can tell you with confidence that you don’t have to stay where you are…in fact, you aren’t meant to. Part of Life is progress, and progress is all about moving FORWARD – not just moving.

Have you ever wondered why your friend who is always in motion is never getting anywhere? Are you that friend? Its forward movement versus movement for movement’s sake.

There are five (5) Rs in the progress process. When you’ve mastered them, you’ll find it easier to identify the source of your stagnation, move out of the muck, and move up.

1. Reflect – Take a moment to consider where you are and how you got there. Are you happy about it, or would you feel better if some things were different?

2. Revise – When you aren’t happy with the way things are going consider making some MINOR changes. Major overhauls in appearance, character, profession, or acquaintance often don’t stick. They’re too abrupt and overwhelming to EFFECTIVELY maintain. People who do this often find themselves revising their revisions.

3. Redo – Are you happy with the way things are going? Great! Then keep it up. Think about the steps you took to get where you are, try to find a pattern or process, and then repeat when possible. You may not be able to take the same action in every situation, but often you can repeat similar beliefs, feelings and personal responses. The goal is to always be responsible (another R word) for manifesting/creating your own experiences.

4. Risk – This was a hard one for me! But I’ve learned that nothing happens without risk. You will always have to put something on the line to get what you want. The key is ensuring that what you want is worth it’s weight (or greater) when compared to the risk. If you can stand to lose $250 without hurting yourself you might take a risk in the stock market. If you lose, you haven’t hurt anything…but if you win? It could be a big score. Now if that money is all you have left to cover bills, groceries and carfare to get to work…that’s not a risk…that’s a gamble. Those are not the same thing and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Never the twain shall meet. Capece?

5. Revisit/Review – Last but certainly not least, when all is done – start the process over. Evaluate where you in comparison to where you were. Even the smallest inch of progress is progress. In fact, the more you can appreciate the small steps, the better you feel about what you’re doing and the more likely you are to keep going. As you keep moving (forward), you’ll find that you pick up pace, moving faster and easier, with more grace.

It is important to remember that these steps do not always occur in particular order, so keep them in mind and use when appropriate.

You may find that you are calculating risks before you even consider your current circumstances. Sometimes a good thing is just too good to pass up (just make sure it really is a risk and not a gamble. If you could lose everything, that’s a gamble not a risk. The worst case scenario with a risk is that you wind up back where you started…not worse off).

Above all else, remember to have fun. If people aren’t talking about you, you probably aren’t doing it right. Part of the process of learning, growing and progressing to where you want to be is taking in every moment with a beginner’s mind – like it’s the first (or the last) time you’ll ever see it. Soak up the experience and try not to place too much emphasis on the destination.

Shine your light. I can’t wait to see.

