Several years ago I started a blog called “The KISS Project.” The purpose of the blog was to capture some of life’s simplest (and most rewarding) moments in time.

It lasted all of a month before I dropped it. It wasn’t that I didn’t love the blog or the concept, but each week it became harder and harder to find those little moments.

It has occurred to me some years later that a large part of the problem was my perspective. As someone once said, “If you’re stopping to smell the flowers, but all you see are weeds it’s probably where you’re looking.” How you look at something plays as big as role as what you’re looking at.

So I decided to change my perspective and re-adopt a concept that I’ve let slip past me for years. It’s known as Occam’s Razor: the simplest solution is usually the right one.

Keep it super simple. We’re not stupid, but we often choose to prove this by overcomplicating our circumstances.

He didn’t call because he’s not that into you. Why he’s not that into isn’t the issue. You shouldn’t have to beat yourself up trying to figure out his issues…because contrary to what your girlfriends tell you, you can’t fix them…or him.

You didn’t get the promotion after 20 years on the job, but the boss’s son whose put in 1/4 that time (and doesn’t want to be here) is now supervising the team. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out who’s the more valued player in this game. Hence you should seriously consider going somewhere you’ll be appreciated.

All in all, I’ve realized – I’ve overcomplicated the circumstances by trying to find the more. Let’s face it, information can be seductive. When we believe we know who, what and why – when we know critical details – we feel like we have the power and control to do something with it.

But you don’t. In fact, you don’t need to know anything more than what you know now. Sure there are exceptions, but be careful not to treat the exception like the rule. You don’t always have to go digging, sometimes the answer is right before your eyes.

For me, the answer is simple: I don’t know what I don’t know. There are things I want to see happen, but I don’t know where to begin. How can I make more as a freelancer? How do I promote myself in a new field? How and where should I invest my money to get it working for me? Am I a conversative investor or agressive? Who are my allies as I venture down this new life path?

Simply put, I don’t know. So my goal is to start investigating so that the unknowns might become known. And then I can determine what’s worth knowing more about and what’s worth leaving alone.

If you were to stop overcomplicating your life’s hurdles, what lessons might you learn? What might you discover is the simplest solution to your problems?

The best thing about simple solutions, by the way, they’re simple to do! So hop to it and do it, already! Good luck.

Namaste!

Posted by The Blue Jean Diva, mz. iscis malone, with WordPress for BlackBerry.

