Tags

As I look back over my life, I am glad to be here – able to look back over anything.  I can remember times when I was “out there.” I was living dangerously. The sad thing is I had no idea just how deep in I was.  Something just didn’t feel right.  After a night of questionable character choices, I found myself on my knees crying my eyes out asking the Universe for a change.

Like so many young people, I had fallen into the trap of believing that I had time. “I’m young, there’s still time to fix my mistakes.” But if there is anything I learned it is that we have to take T.I.M.E. seriously. T.I.M.E. = This Instant Means Everything.

I believe that each of us is born with a purpose that is designated to us even before we were a speck in our parents’ eyes. There is something we are meant to do – to achieve –  that only we can.  But in order for us to accomplish the task of living in our purpose, we have to be willing to take time seriously.  We have to remember that This Instant Means Everything.

Far too many of us are living in a perpetual cycle of depression, disappointment and despair because we have not been taught how to walk in line with our purpose.  We have been indirectly influenced by family, friends, and our society at-large which insists that choices can be made casually with little or no consequences.  Without much forethought or insight, we make decisions and adversely affect our future.  When we don’t take into consideration the severity of our choices BEFORE we make them or act on them, we can find ourselves expending more energy trying to get out of trouble than we spent getting into trouble in the first place!

The thing you have to understand is that when you are supposed to be doing something, there will be things that arise to distract you.  Just as there is energy that propels you toward where you are meant to be, there is inverse energy that intends to repel you away from your “inheritance” – destiny, purpose, calling, whatever you want to call it.

Your inheritance is the reward you receive for fulfilling your purpose. When you do what you are called to do, when you understand T.I.M.E. and make decisions with wisdom and discernment, you are bound to reap certain benefits.  Not just wealth and abundance, but health, love, integrity and harmonious relationships find their way into your life.

As I consider how far gone I was once upon a time and How misaligned I was with my purpose, I can truly say that I am blessed! I am so grateful to be where I am today.  You see, your inheritance is not just for you.  When you leave this earth, you can’t take anything you’ve acquired with you.  Everything you’ve achieved, accomplished and attained stays behind.  As a parent, I want nothing more than to build upon my inheritance so that I might add to that of my children.

So, what am I doing exactly?

1. Live in the moment – Remember to be present.  If you spend all your time in the past, you can’t accomplish anything.  But if all your energy is placed on the future, nothing you have will ever be good enough.  Instead, there must be balance.  The fastest way I’ve seen to establish that balance is to accept that This Instant Means Everything.

2. Live with integrity – Be who you say you are…even when no one is watching.  If you say something is important to you, it should be a part of your life.  If you say something is of value to you, then treat it with value and hold others accountable to treating it with value, too.

3.Live as an example – Be someone who someone else can be proud of.  Consider your choices and actions BEFOREHAND.  Take the time to think about the outcomes of the things you would invest your time and attention in.  People learn as much from what you do as what you say.  Rather than be someone who says, “Do what I say not what I do,” be someone who people can look up to and model themselves after.

4. Live in purpose – Be true to yourself.  Know what drives you and honor it.  Remember that how you acquire your reward is more than important than acquiring the reward. Living in your purpose is bigger than you.  Your purpose serves others – not your friends and family; they’re a given.  Your purpose should serve those in need. The beauty is that when you do your part, you will be rewarded and your family – especially your children – get your reward and theirs.Remember, when you live by example you are showing them how to get theirs, too.

5. Engage in active reflection – Take a moment to look at yourself at the end of each day. Did you achieve your goal? Where did you excel? Where did you need help? Were there hindrances? helps? Are there some issues that require your attention? Do you need to make some changes to your thought life, your behavior, or your network to fulfill your purpose? By making this a daily practice it becomes more difficult to be nonchalant with about what we think, say and do. Instead, when we actively reflect we not only think about what we did or didn’t do, but we plan our actions moving forward.

6. Revise or repeat – When the time comes you have to decide if things are going the way you want them to or not.  If they are, it is most likely that you will want to repeat whatever course of action has gotten you where you are.  However, when things aren’t going well, you are going to want to make some revisions and do some thing differently.  But, as I always say, “Just because something isn’t red, doesn’t make it green.” This is why active reflection is so important.  It isn’t enough to make changes, you have to know what you’re changing.  These new implementations have to be meaningful and deliberate; you’re going to have to sustain whatever you do…an impossible task if you don’t fully understand the task you’ve chosen to undertake.

Remember, This Instant Means Everything.  If you were to ask yourself several hours, days or weeks in a row if you like what you’re doing – the results that you’re getting – would you say yes?  If not, stop! It’s time for some action…and some active reflection.  In the end, it’s not about you.  I don’t know about you, but I want to leave my seeds a double portion – their inheritances and mine! What I do with my time – with this instant – means everything.

Namaste.

