Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yikes! I just made an important discovery….I’m usually right.  That isn’t so much the discovery.  More often than not, I am prone to listen to my Intuition and see things coming down the pipeline.  Whether or not I listen – well, that’s another story.

No, the discovery is that I need a character overhaul! Yes, it hurts but the truth often does. *sigh* Allow me to go back for a moment and fill you in.

You see, my Intuition has always been strong since I was a girl.  I would have foretelling dreams, having “gut feelings” that sometimes left me keeled over and would sometimes sense things that had me saying stuff even I didn’t understand…until later.  I never really honed this gift though.  It frightened me.  And so, as time went on, I would still have these strong Intuitive promptings, but I would ignore them for one reason or another.  Rather than address my role in the issue, I would dedicate myself to sharing my foresight with everyone else involved in the situation.

In short, instead of accepting my gift and making it work for me, I would try to influence people to do (or not do) things that would ensure the best possible outcome.  Unfortunately, because I knew I was likely to be right, this often led me to judge folks.  I would look at people like they were stupid because they couldn’t see what I saw coming around the bend or down the pipeline.  I would talk at them instead of to them about the issues at hand, and it often came off as if I were just being critical and highlighting their faults.

Some would consider my right:wrong ratio and call me wise. But a truly wise woman knows what to say and how much to say. I’m sharing this with you because I see the same is true for so many people around me.  We are instinctive, Intuitive, intellectual beings.  We know things – and we know that we know things.  We can back it up with proof and even highlight evidence of what is yet to come (yep, we’re that good).

But we aren’t getting through.  People don’t take us seriously.  If we say too much, then we’re judgmental, critical and cold (which is not entirely untrue).  If we say too little, then when things come to pass we’re forced to say silent or we look like we’re just playing the “I told you so” card or worse, the “I just want to be right so I’m saying I saw something I didn’t really see” card. And if you have a track record for being right about things, your friends and family are likely to have a conniption when you mention that you knew something and didn’t share! “You just let me [fill in the blank].”

It’s a very delicate process creating harmony between what is said and how to say it.  It makes me think of an audio projection (AP) system.  If you’re over the age of 10, you have likely been someplace where the AP system sent out a loud spike of reverberation (or reverb).  Perhaps someone was standing too close to the speakers with a microphone, or some wires got crossed.  Whatever the reason, rather than the balanced pitches and tones of what you were expecting to hear (a song, a speech, whatever), you get the harsh, shrilly shrieks of electro-pulses!

Reverb is made up of most of the same electro-pulses as the melodic tunes or strong voice you intend to hear, but much of the difference lies in the delivery.  A lack of filtering causes the reverberation to come through as it does. IS your message lacking filter?

Perhaps you are being too harsh or judgmental.  Or perhaps your focus is off, maybe it isn’t someone else who needs to change, but you. Have you ever considered that if you put less effort into changing others and more into working on you that you might get better results in less time?

If you want to increase your chances of giving your audience an enjoyable playback and not harsh reverb, take a moment to filter.  You might be right, but being right is never as important as doing right. Doing right is not about judgment, it’s about love, compassion, and consideration. And as always, the best way to love another is to love yourself first!

Good luck and Namaste.

