Let me preface this by saying that while I love Snapple (made from the best stuff on earth) this is not about them. Now, with that said:

The other day while working a fair, I bought a Snapple to go with my lunch. The message under the cap was so wonderful, I had to keep it – which I’ve made a habit of doing with awesome things as of late. The cap read: Six-year olds laugh an average of 300 times a day. Adults only laugh 15 to 100 times a day.

Naturally, your first instinct might be that children aren’t bogged down by the hardships and tribulations of life; they don’t share in their parents’ woes and have more liberties to enjoy life, in turn allowing them to laugh freely.

Yeah, you could say that, but I’d disagree with you. I’ve watched children plagued by drama at home come into school and laugh their heads off. They laugh harder than their peers sometimes. Poor babies. They can genuinely appreciate the importance of a good laugh. You may have to draw them out of a shell at first, but once they’re out…it’s a wrap.

No, I don’t think children’s circumstance indicate how often they laugh, I think it’s they’re perception of their circumstances. Children are resilient; they bounce back from their hardships with a tenacity and determination many adults can’t equal.

Children have a way of viewing the world that compartmentalizes their experiences into isolated incidents while simultaneously accumulating information from which they can learn and grow. It’s this perspective that allows them to laugh so much. Kids will literally shake off whatever’s getting them down then laugh at their own silly dance.

Today, do like the kiddies do – shake it off, then laugh about it.

Good luck and Namaste.

