Sometimes one of the best things you can do is stop. People think stopping is equivalent to doing nothing, but doing nothing is sometimes the most pivotal move you can make. I (re)learned that lesson today.

Some time ago I started working on a marketing catalog; something I could take with me to different venues where I planned to conduct my programs. I’d hired someone to complete it, but eventually took up the task myself when they left it incomplete. Unfortunately, that meant it would take me much longer to do since I’m quite unskilled in the area of graphic design.

I’d nearly completed it yesterday and decided that if I wasn’t called in to substitute teach today (one of my many side hustles), that I would take the catalog to a few churches and meet with some folks about summer workshops. Excited, I jumped directly to the last page and put the finishing touches on the project. Proud of myself, I prepared to print. And that’s when I saw it…all my previous work was missing.

I’d lost everything. All my overviews, descriptions, and images. All my hard work and energy. It was all gone – EVERYTHING. I’d spent hours getting it done before and now I’d have to do it again.

I looked on my flash drive only to find that I had a later version on there, but not the latest. It made me wonder, what the heck had happened? I always save my work. I save it and save it and save it again. I back it up on external hard drives, jump sticks and even email it to myself for virtual access. So why hadn’t I done that?

I hadn’t stopped. When I thought about it, I hadn’t stopped to breathe and reflect. I’d been working and hustling and moving non-stop. I was well outside my comfort zone with this and I was spending so much time with it that I hadn’t really seen what I was doing. I hadn’t stopped to put all my ducks in a row and make sure everything was where I needed it to be for the long haul.

When I considered just how much work I would have to RE-do, I just wanted to curl up into a ball and cry. I wanted to give up and throw in the towel…I just wanted to stop.

And that’s when it hit me – stop! Indeed, I needed to stop. But only for a moment. I needed to stop and regroup, put my thoughts together and get myself up to speed. I’d already done this before, so I had an idea what it should look like and what I would say. I knew what my objectives were and I had my previous outlines available to me for reference, so now all I had to do was stop.

My catalog still isn’t complete, but I did put a major dent in it. In fact, I like this draft better than the last.

Son here’s the question: What are you zooming through so fast you’re not getting the most out of it? Where do you need to hit the pause button and regroup? What in your life is screaming for you to just stop so you can move forward with Mach speed? Take a look, you’ll be surprised where you might land.
Good luck and Namaste.

